Month: May 2023

New Article: 5 Ways to Make Your Historical Fiction Ring True

5 Ways to Make Your Historical Fiction Ring True

I had a new article out this week in Writers Digest on writing historical fiction!

Would you like to write historical fiction? Are you feeling overwhelmed by the prospect of research, or unsure how to get into the mindset of a character from a different era? Maybe one of these tips will help. You can read the full article here!

New Article: OHP Playlist on Largehearted Boy

I had such fun putting together this list for the blog Largehearted Boy’s awesome “Book Notes” series, where authors highlight songs that influenced the writing of their book! I got to talk about some of the songs I listened to on loop while writing OHP, and also share my full writing playlist. (Spoilers: there are a lot of film soundtracks, lol.)

You can read the full article here, or listen to my full (seven hour long, whoof) writing playlist for Our Hideous Progeny here!

New Article: Writers Digest Q&A

C. E. McGill: On Revisiting Classic Science Fiction

I recently had a Q&A come out in Writers Digest! ✏️ I talked about the writing process, the publishing process, & bringing OHP from its initial stages as my final year project in university to a finished novel. You can read the full interview here!

New Article: On Victorian Paleoart & the Birth of a Sci-Fi Novel

I had another article come out recently, this one from Literary Hub!

Do you like pictures of dinosaurs? What about real old pictures of dinosaurs? Want to hear how said pictures inspired my Frankenstein spin-off novel, Our Hideous Progeny? Read the full article here!

New Article: “Unnatural Bodies” for Crimereads

I have a new essay out from Crimereads today! I had tremendous fun writing this one, exploring some of the queer history of Frankenstein/horror in general, and how that informed my writing of Mary in Our Hideous Progeny.

(And of course, I had to touch on Susan Stryker’s legendary essay “My Words to Victor Frankenstein Above the Village of Chamounix: Performing Transgender Rage“!)

You can read my essay for CrimeReads here. And don’t forget – Our Hideous Progeny is finally out today in the US, available in a bookstore near you!

New Excerpt: read now on Tor.com!

It was a grey and foggy March day when we brought it to life at last…

Happy US publication day!! 🥳🎉🇺🇸 To celebrate, Tor is putting out a brand new excerpt from OHP.

You can read the prologue and part of the first chapter of Our Hideous Progeny now on the Tor website!

OHP is available now wherever good books are sold! (Or at your local library, if you yell (politely) at the librarians to acquire it. 🖤)

Upcoming Events!

Hi all! Breaking news: OUR HIDEOUS PROGENY is out TODAY! 🥳 I have some awesome events coming up to promote it – don’t miss them on my new Events page!

Tue May 9th: Instagram Live w/Katy Hays

Tue May 9 at 5:30pm BST
On @doubledayukbooks

Super excited to announce that next Tuesday evening, I’ll be doing an Instagram Live with Katy Hays, author of The Cloisters! Join me and Katy for a chat about OHP, The Cloisters, & all things Gothic!

Waterstones Falkirk Table Signing  •  Sat May 13th, 12-1pm

Join me at Waterstones Falkirk to celebrate the release of ‘Our Hideous Progeny’! I’ll be signing copies in the bookstore on Saturday May 13th from 12-1pm.

This event is not ticketed – it’s first come first serve, so get here early to get yourself a copy of OHP!

Cymera Festival Panel: Life or Death with Angie Spoto & Melinda Salisbury

I’m going to be on a panel at Cymera Festival, Scotland’s festival of Scifi, Fantasy, and Horror writing, with Angie Spoto & Melinda Salisbury! This panel promises to be an amazing and Gothic time – learn more and buy tickets here!

An Evening with C. E. McGill: Waterstones Sauchiehall St., Glasgow  •  Thu Jun 8th, 7pm

Join me at Waterstones Sauchiehall Street in Glasgow for an evening to celebrate the launch of Our Hideous Progeny! I’ll be in conversation with fellow author Louise Welsh about literary influences, the draw of gothic fiction, history as a setting, and more! Purchase tickets here.

OUR HIDEOUS PROGENY: Out now!

Sticky post

For readers of Circe or Ariadne, a brilliant literary revisiting of Mary Shelley’s classic Frankenstein with a fresh, queer, provocative twist.

Years ago, Mary’s great uncle—dropout medical student Victor Frankenstein—disappeared in the Arctic. Now, in 1853, she and her husband Henry live in London, struggling to make a name for themselves as paleontologists.

Unfortunately, in a world where scientific success requires wealth and connections, they don’t stand a chance: Mary, the illegitimate daughter of a housemaid, with a sharp mind and a sharper tongue; and Henry, a recently-fired geologist better known for his gambling problems than his radical theories. But when Mary discovers some old family papers that reveal the truth of her great-uncle’s past, she comes up with a plan—one that will pay their debts, prove Henry’s theories right, and finally get her some of the respect she goddamn deserves.

They’re going to make a monster, and not just any monster—they’re going to create a plesiosaur.

It’s weird, it’s queer, and it’s here in bookshops near you! OUR HIDEOUS PROGENY is my debut novel, a spiritual sequel to Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein and a love letter to women in science and the fascinating history of Victorian paleoart.

Are you a fan of Victorian mad science? Gothic gays? Women who are angry, and ambitious, and covered in blood? Then OHP may be for you!

An image button that says "Add Our Hideous Progeny on Goodreads!" Links to Goodreads.

Note: Our Hideous Progeny is a Gothic novel, and may contain content that is distressting to some. View the trigger warnings/content warnings here.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén